Maybe One Day – Melissa Kantor *REVIEW*

MaybeOneDay

Click the cover to read more about Maybe One Day.

 Maybe One Day, by Melissa Kantor was a book that kicked me in the gut when I least expected it.

RATING

3.5 stars – I really liked it!

SYNOPSIS

The story revolves around two teenage girls- Zoe and Olivia- the best of friends, who are struggling and coping in their own ways with the terrible diagnosis the doctors have given Olivia. Determined to stick by her friend, Zoe works through the struggle of everyday life without her confidant and partner in crime.
Melissa Kantor keeps you captured from cover to cover with the journey of a beautiful and loyal friendship.

OPINION

As I wrote before, this book hit me when I least expected it. It was incredibly emotional and left me in a kind of stupor. The author dragged me from feeling to feeling effortlessly, not giving a chance for reprieve until I couldn’t remember why I was laughing or had tears running down my face.
One aspect of the book I wasn’t too keen on was the swearing. I found it to be unnecessary, random and kind of pointless. It seemed like a desperate attempt to make the novel seem more mature even though the cussing did not fit the profile and personality of the characters.
Other then the comment about the swearing, I really enjoyed all aspects of the novel. I think that the characters were fairly realistic and that this book was an enjoyable read but admittedly, I would be hesitant to add it to my ‘re-read’ shelf- I feel that this novel wouldn’t be quite as enjoyable the second time around.
If you’re looking for an emotional read about friendship, perseverance and loyalty this book is definitely a good read for you.

‘Til the next ramble,

Bye-bye!

Leave a comment